“15 More”

10734179_963267030355700_1604942238668054687_n

Hello everyone!

Monday we went and got our car’s tire pressure fixed and got it vacuumed and went through a car wash! We then went to get my hair done at this fancy spa and we both got a welcoming package with coupons and sample shampoo and conditioner. Then we went to IHOP for lunch and I got blueberry and cheesecake waffles! After that I took Sister Roberts to the Family Christian Bookstore. What an event.

Tuesday we saw a less active sister. I don’t think she has much of a testimony so we prepare a lot of lessons like we would if we were teaching a potential member. I talked about how family history, missionary work, and Family Home Evening were all connected. Then we went to the nunnery/retirement center that we love and visited a member who introduced us to her friend who had questions about the temple. When we got home after correlation that night, I got in the shower and after shampooing, I RAN OUT OF HOT WATER! Also, our fridge was sorry because we hadn’t bought groceries the day before. We also only had 12 miles left on our car to use for the rest of the week. Sister Roberts and I just thought all of this was so funny.

Wednesday we had District Meeting in Holland with our new District Leader. Our Zone Leaders were also visiting. We talked about our purpose as missionaries. At the end, our District Leader asked us to take out our Ministerial Certificate and look at it. I don’t have one (yet), so I felt a little out of place and didn’t feel like a legitimate missionary. My District Leader didn’t know my situation so when he asked me to share my thoughts, I started tearing up. It wasn’t his fault, but he apologized anyways. After District Lunch, we went an taught a less active (older lady). She also asked us about FARMVILLE VS FACEBOOK. I think that was good for her… I also got locked in her old bathroom and she almost called 911.

Thursday was trade offs with the Sister Training Leaders. It wasn’t too eventful other then being invited in while door knocking by a Jehovah’s Witness couple. I now have this month’s issue of The Watchtower.

Friday. HAPPY HALLOWEEN! During personal study, I read a book I borrowed from the lost and found at church called “The History and Works of the Relief Society.” I learned that some of the LDS Women fought for suffrage! We had weekly planning after lunch and missed a phone call from our MISSION PRESIDENT! He asked if I wanted to extend my mission and I said YES! ๐Ÿ™‚ He asked Sister Roberts what she thought and she agreed that I should stay ๐Ÿ™‚ He then told us to “Stay out of trouble….” :O After weekly planning, we made some chocolate chip pumpkin cookies to take to a member’s house that evening, bundled up and went to the nearest neighborhood and door knocked for an hour. Halloween night we spent with the Elder’s and a couple in the ward. We had pizza and had homemade chocolates.

Saturday. Happy first day of November! ๐Ÿ™‚ We helped an elderly lady on the side of the road rake leaves for 20 minutes. We also met an Agnostic who is now a new investigator. ๐Ÿ™‚ We door knocked that evening and meet a retired Catholic teacher who gave us some leftover Halloween candy and told his wife we were too pretty to be nuns.

Sunday was great! We got to sleep in because it was Daylight Savings! This is the exact text we got from our Zone Leaders: “Hey! Your phone says it’s 7:20 right now. If you thought it was 8:20, you missed getting an extra hour of sleep! #roughlife #daylightsavings I did Sister Robert’s hair. She has a lot of it! I was excited though because I could do a sock bun- something I can’t do on myself. It was fast and testimony meeting and one of my favorite ladies in the ward gave the Relief Society lesson on being kind to one another. ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s so funny and blunt.

I found this scripture during Personal Study this morning. I’ve been trying to read more from the scriptures during that time. It’s Proverbs 6:27. “Can a man take fire in his bosom, and his clothes not be burned?” I think that’s an interesting scripture because we can have a strong testimony, feeling the warmth and power of the Holy Ghost, but there will be side effects- whether mocking of others or tempting of the Devil. Just something to ponder…

Well, that concludes Week 8! I’m almost done being trained! It’s so crazy! I hope you all are well. โค

Love, Sister Harrison

Leave a Reply

