The Sweetest Sound

Hello everyone! Prepare yourselves for an awesome week!
MONDAY we went shopping as a District with our Elders and the Holt Elders.
Then Sister Willis invited us to her home for a Family Home Evening. We did the David and Goliath object lesson with marshmallows!
We also had another lesson with the Perez family and read the Introduction to the Book of Mormon. They undoubtedly loved it! πŸ™‚

TUESDAY was my birthday! πŸ™‚ I made cinnamon rolls with orange glaze for breakfast and we went door knocking for a hour in the morning, which went by pretty fast. We met a MSU student here from China who didn’t believe in God, but when I asked her if she missed her father in China and she said yes, I explained that her Father in Heaven missed her as well. She got excited and invited us back! πŸ™‚
We then visited our friend Sister Kruger (NASCAR), and shared The Plan of Salvation with her. (Video coming soon). We ended up talking about the Atonement more, and I shared http://therebelution.com/blog/2006/10/the-room-by-joshua-harris/#.Ve2wVhFVhBc
Then we went to Finely’s and they gave me a free lunch and SIster Jacobson (the Mission President’s wife) called and wished me a Happy Birthday. πŸ™‚
We ended the day at Sister Kelley’s for dinner and dessert (my grandma’s homemade mac & cheese and my dad’s chocolate cake with fudge). The Elders joined us, which was fun as well πŸ™‚

WEDNESDAY we had District Meeting about working well with members. Some of the topics we learn about are repeats, but it’s always good to review and learn from new people. We had a picnic for lunch and then went to a lesson with Amanda. She wanted to move her baptismal date up to this past Saturday!
Then I had trade offs with Sister Ellertson at MSU.

THURSDAY Amanda passed her baptismal interview!! We were rushing a bit to get everyone involved, but everyone was on board and it worked out great! We were able to have dinner with her family and then work on the baptism program at Sister Kelley’s that evening. πŸ™‚

FRIDAY I went to the temple with Sister Kelley and SIster Sodja- a Sister serving in the Lansing ward. Sister Smith and Sister Sodja’s companion spend the day together because they’ve both been to the temple in the last 6 months. A bit of door knocking and dinner afterwards at the Douglas’!

SATURDAY was Amanda’s baptism, 12 years and a day in the same font I was baptised in! It was extremely special! I felt the spirit so strongly and everything went very smoothly. I was grateful to the speakers and Elder Maucotel for playing his violin, and President and Sister Jacobson who were able to come, as well as a few sisters from the Mission Office (including Sister Rogers who helped us find Amanda in the first place). Her husband brought her 3 little girls and their was a warm welcome from the Relief Society President who brought refreshments and everything! The programs turned out beautifully, and I created a Guest page for her for people to sign ❀ When she went into the font, I teared up and followed her into the dressing room after she walked out of the font. She said she felt happy. ❀

SUNDAY Amanda was confirmed in church! Kaylee (her 10 year old) brought cookies for everybody. They fit right in! She’s making comments in class and getting along with the members so well!
We had Dinner with the Hopkins and the Elders- shared horrible childhood pictures of one another πŸ˜€

The hardest tears I’ve ever loved to cry, fell as I opened up my mouth and testified.
Between the tiny walls of strangers’ living room, the Spirit told their hearts my words were true. And the most wonderful sound I ever heard, is the sound of water running in the church, as the one I’ve come to love got dressed in white, my eyes saw their first glimpse of heaven’s light!

LOVE, Sister Harrison ❀

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Awesome!!! So happy for Amanda!!! Keep up the Great Work Sister!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

