In Christ Alone

12642861_10208393726745971_1259891730731283713_nHello Everyone,

MONDAY was transfers for everybody else, so when we went to Wendy’s for lunch, it was like having a 1/2 Mission fast food party! I had the opportunity to say goodbye to my trainer Sister Roberts before she went home which was pretty sad, but I will see her again. ❀

TUESDAY we went door knocking and I saw the world’s largest dreidel in front of someone’s house. #JewishLawnOrnamentsDoneRight

WEDNESDAY we didn’t have district meeting πŸ˜› We found out that Sylvia’s family doesn’t want her to be baptized.
I’ve learned a lesson on my mission and that is that children just need to be loved. I know I’ve never been a parent and I don’t understand how difficult they can be, but man, I think the world would be so much better if we hugged more and yelled less. #soapboxisover
We also had a dinner appointment that night and we planning on just waiting in the car a few minutes before because it was getting too dark to door knock, but I didn’t want to waste time, so we knocked this small circle and picked up a family! They’re only potentials, because they were too busy to meet right then, but we’ll go back after the holiday.

THURSDAY was good actually! We got to meet with a new less active the Elders door knocked into and she has a crazy story! But she’s moved to Michigan to turn her life around and she even mentioned how she’s been sharing the gospel with her boyfriend! “He won’t take lessons though, cuz he has a little thug in him he doesn’t want to let go.” I looked at her and said “Are you kidding me?! I’m from Detroit and Sister Heugly is half black!” “We ARE the thug squad!” Sister Heugly finished. πŸ˜€ She just laughed and said she’d be open to introducing him to us. πŸ™‚
We taught Ling after and that was okay. We don’t have anyone to come to her lessons with us right now, so thank goodness for translator apps and Chinese pamphlets. πŸ™‚ That evening, we called our Dsitrct Leader and told him we needed more of the SAVIOR IS BORN pass along cards and he gave us the keys to his apartment and told us to go get them ourselves!! “DON’T TRASH OUR APARTMENT!” his companion said πŸ™‚ In and out we were and on the way to giving their keys back, the radio came on (don’t’ judge, we were switching between our CDs), and the DJ said “We have many things to be grateful for this season. Look to your left-” We looked to our left: Medical Marijuana place. “Now look to your right.” MMP. #SouthLansingProbs
We had a member lesson and briefly taught the Restoration and got a referral!!! πŸ˜€

FRIDAY and SATURDAY we knocked a lot and it was actually really fun! We had some great conversations with people! However, one lady was being a very rude, and I forgot my Christ-like charity and accidentally told her to “have a nice life.” So that was that… And Sister H and I got way into the Christmas spirit when we started singing “Once there was a snowman” and this lady answered while we were singing and just shut the door.
A member invited us over to make gingerbread houses and it happened to be during our lunch hour so it worked out great! I get frustrated when the graham crackers don’t line up just right, so I did a slanted sunroof with gummy bears tanning on the top. Pictures will probably end up on Facebook. (Thanks mom!)
Another lady told us that we believed we had to pay our way to heaven and I told her that was false doctrine and she just stood there shocked. My companion probably has a welt on her forehead from mentally face palming all the time. We ended the night having KFC with Sister Held and her nonmember husband who really likes us. πŸ™‚ I helped her print off 16 names from her family tree and she wants me to do their temple work when I get home ❀

SUNDAY was crazy as always. We had a nice Relief Society lesson though and 5 of our less actives came to church and all sat with us! They made friends with each other and I was so happy. I’m starting to realize why I’m here in Meridian. ❀
*Update on Amanda* I called her last night and she’s been going to church with the girls! I’m so happy that she is progressing and I can’t wait to see them again!* ❀

Helaman 16:2 But as many as there were who did not believe in the words of Samuel were angry with him; and they cast stones at him upon the wall, and also many shot arrows at him as he stood upon the wall; but the Spirit of the Lord was with him, insomuch that they could not hit him with their stones neither with their arrows.

3 Now when they saw that they could not hit him, there were many more who did believe on his words, insomuch that they went away unto Nephi to be baptized.

4 For behold, Nephi was baptizing, and prophesying, and preaching, crying repentance unto the people, showing signs and wonders, working miracles among the people, that they might know that the Christ must shortly comeβ€”

Love, Sister Harrison ❀

Leave a Reply

