The City of Steeples

12642546_10208430674029630_257327600943569355_nHELLO FROM MIDLAND! You read correctly. Stayed tuned for details.

MONDAY I found out my brother got his license! That was so weird but I’m happy for him πŸ™‚ I went shopping and got some fun things and then we met some of the Zone back at the Stake Center for dodge ball. We had a fun dinner appointment at the Elders Quorum President’s home. I knew his wife when I was young, so that was cool.

TUESDAY we visited a super less active who wants to go to the temple but said he didn’t need to stop smoking pot because his ancestors were slaves…… #IHaveAHeadache

We then had a lesson with Ling where we set expectations and we were able to have a lesson the very next day with a Chinese translator which was a blessing. She wants to be baptized, but wants to take it slow because she doesn’t quite understand the Book of Mormon yet. (Which is good.)
We had a lesson with Alex on the Restoration AND Gospel of Jesus Christ and he said it all seemed like review (he’s never been taught by missionaries!) I put him on date for January 23rd, but am sad because I will be here in Midland for that 😦 That would have been my third baptism for my whole mission! #EndingWithABang That’s okay though- just because I won’t be there to watch him go underwater, doesn’t mean i didn’t plant the seed and experience his conversion. ❀

WEDNESDAY we had District Meeting on obedience and our Mission President showed up. It was actually a great meeting! He even came out to lunch with us, and he doesn’t eat lunch!

FRIDAY my Sister training Leader Sister Ellertson and I taught Alex again. He is seriously so prepared it is unreal. I got a picture of him, so you should be able to see that on Facebook πŸ™‚ I said goodbye to all my Meridian Ward friends. To those of you who I didn’t get a chance to see before I left, I will quote a song: “There’ll me no sad farewells, there’ll be no tear-dimmed eyes, where all is peace and joy and love, and the soul never dies.” ❀

SATURDAY I arrived in Midland. I am now companions with Sister Foster and Sister Watts. They’re great! I really feel like they’ll help me finish my mission strong and happy! πŸ˜€ Sister Foster is cute and girly and Sister Watts is sporty and lax. A fun fact: Sister Roberts (my trainer) just completed her mission, “died” here as well! They’re both excited I’m here and think I’m funny, which is always a plus. I appreciate feeling loved. I was worried about being in a trio, but so far, it’s great!
We taught a less active who’s currently in a nursing home and she sneaks verses from the Book of Mormon to her friend who thinks it’s the Bible πŸ˜€ #SomethingI’dDo
Then we had a potential take us to Grand Traverse Pie CO. for dinner and that was a blast.
Door knocking is easy here… people are pretty friendly and will let you in when it’s exceptionally cold. I think it’s because DOW headquarters are right here and there’s such a large number of members who work there.

SUNDAY. They have 2 wards here in Midland. I am in the first. The members are crazy on top of it here! I’m quite impressed πŸ™‚ We visited 2 active member families that evening (one for dinner), and both had children who were all sharing the gospel.
The second was an extra special experience, but we discovered that I had attended EFY with their daughter back in 2010 and was very close with her. She’s currently at BYU. We taught a lot of lessons, and like I said, the spirit has been very strong here. ❀ I know this is where I’m meant to be.

I love you all so very much and will see you in 15 days! xoxo
❀ Sister Harrison

#PersonalStudy
Luke 22:31 And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat:

32 But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren.

Leave a Reply

