Finish With Your Torch Still Lit

12645050_10208393803027878_3510234388703043948_n.jpgHi Family and Friends,

MONDAY was quite the Pday! In the evening, we had a lesson with Joyce. She said she doesn’t need an organized religion because she’s her “own church.” The Spirit prompted me to ask her what she thought the purpose of church was. I was going to ignore the question, but ended up going for it and she said it was to fellowship and continue to learn more. I thought about how many members of the church think the same thing, and that’s why when they get offended, it’s so easy to leave. I’m not quite sure what I said after it, but it was purely the Spirit of the Lord. My companions told me later. “Christ did not build a building while he was here on the Earth,” I began. “He taught wherever he walked, whether by a river or on a mountain. The organization of the church is purely for our benefit- for each member to complete the things required to live with God again. We attend church to partake of the body and blood that was dripped for each of our sins, and to remember the sacrifice that He made so that we could be renewed and refreshed throughout the week as a better person. This is symbolized by bread and water. We have the opportunity to gather as brothers and sisters in Zion and worship the Almighty God of Israel!” It was silent. “Wow,” Joyce replied. “I loved that.”
ELDER STRONG ONCE SAID: “Be bold to empower, not to belittle.”

TUESDAY a lot of our appointments fell through, so we did some door knocking. Not a lot of people answered, but those that did were polite and we even got some potentials! We met this one guy who called us “beautiful flowers”…

WEDNESDAY the Sister training Leaders (my companions) asked me for advice for their training they have to do next week for the Zone. Boy, did I have opinions for them! 18 months worth of missionary struggles and miracles? Heck yeah, I’ve got ideas!
I also worked on the new missionary My Plan for Elders and Sisters going home. I really felt the Spirit during that process. They have some neat videos from general Authorities and from successful return missionaries.<3
We had a heated lesson with Joyce on the “hierarchy” of the Church. Sister Foster explained it well. Instead of us looking at the Prophet from the top going down to us, we should look at Christ at the top using channels to communicate with us.

THURSDAY we had Zone Conference. What a spiritual experience. We have a new thing in the mission called the “MLM Cup” which is a trophy that the Zone with the most baptisms per transfer will receive at the end of every transfer, or something like that. I gave my departing testimony which I felt was extremely scattered. I had a bunch of different thoughts and no organized direction, but a few themes I did want to express as things I’ve learned throughout my mission. I ended up sharing Moroni 8:16. I shared that “the God of Israel truly leads this Camp!” and that the family unit is what brings us ultimate joy. 🙂 I expressed the importance of forming relationships with members and making investigators your friends. I also had the opportunity to read the general call letter aloud during one of the Assistant’s training. Elder Chalmer’s was talking about how when most of us get our call letter, we read where we’re going and don’t really read the promises that come after. The theme was magnifying our calling. President Jacobsen thanked everyone for coming with an attitude ready to learn and that’s why the spirit (along with our reverence) was so strong.

FRIDAY we did a lot of finding and met a lady who wasn’t interested. When we asked her if she knew anyone who would be, she said her one neighbor was never home and they other was really mean. We knocked into both of them and they both want to learn more.

SATURDAY we went country knockin’ and a lot of people were concerned that our car had broke down. 🙂 #HowSweet
The Sisters say that we’re living the dream because we’re the power team. We had a lesson with our investigator Joey who brought his married friends who are so solid and Joey said he wanted to be baptized and sealed in the temple.
We had another lesson with Joyce that evening in the hospital. So basically she’s been fighting the gospel and kept saying she was a rebel. She prays to know if the things we teach are true, but she has a tendency to be skeptical. All of a sudden, the spirit strikes again. “Do you consider yourself a nonconformist?” “yes,” she replied. I told her that I’ve adopted the name “Anomaless” for myself and that I am a rebel at heart. “I was once fighting the gospel,” I began. I went on to talk about humility and once I had developed that, everything just clicked. “I’m just not worthy,” she said with tears in her eyes. I gave her the example in the Bible where the father brought his possessed son to Jesus Christ for Him to heal. This man had hope, but he struggled with deep faith from within. Christ, knowing our hearts perfectly asked the father if he believed He could heal his son. Quick to respond on the impatience of his soul, the man replied “yes.” The Son of God looked into the eyes of the father with hope- hope that he’d humble himself and trust a little bit more. The man wept. “Help thou my unbelief.” I told Joyce it was okay to pray to our Father in Heaven for help. I told her that God hasn’t created strong minds and free spirits to mindlessly follow along. But he gives us gifts to be leaders and to make a difference. That was it. I remembered why I came on a mission. I have forgotten for 9 months. I smiled and said, “now isn’t that comforting? There is no reason to fight anymore.” She just cried. “I know what I need to do to change.” Later that night she texted us thanking us for the visit and said she felt like she was getting her feet washed by the Savior Himself. Sister Foster had been rubbing her legs through the whole process because of her Mitchell’s Disease. ❤

SUNDAY we had a great ward council and were trained by the General Authorities on making the Sabbath Day more of a delight! 🙂
We ended the day with a great Thanksgiving size dinner with a older couple in the ward who will be leaving soon for their mission in Missouri. They invited two of their sons and grandchildren over. It was so fun! 🙂 See you all in 8 days!

Love, Sister Alexandria Harrison ❤

2 Timothy Chapter 1
7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.
8 Be not thou therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner: but be thou partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God;

9 Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began,

10 But is now made manifest by the appearing of our Saviour Jesus Christ, who hath abolished death, and hath brought life and immortality to light through the gospel:

Leave a Reply

